Home Read What's New Join
My Account Login

Read Our Devotional             2016 Opportunities to be Published             Detailed Navigation

The HOME for Christian writers! The Home for Christian Writers!
The Official Writing Challenge



how it works
submission rules
guidelines for
choosing a level


submit your entry
read current entries
read past entries
challenge winners

Our Daily Devotional HERE
Place it on your site or
receive it daily by email.



how it works   Submit

Previous Challenge Entry (Level 3 – Advanced)
Topic: Cross (as in the Cross of Christ) (08/17/06)

TITLE: Alphabet of the Cross
By Sharlyn Guthrie


A is for atonement.
According to the law, only an unblemished lamb could atone for sin. Jesus, the holy Lamb of God became our atonement.

B is for blood.
Just as the blood of the lamb was poured onto the altar in Old Testament times, Jesus’ blood poured from His hands, feet, and side on the cross.

C is for crucifixion.
Jesus was crucified. Crucifixion, or death on a cross, was a cruel, slow, and humiliating punishment that ended in death, hours or even days after it began.

D is for disciples.
Jesus told His twelve disciples to remember His death by breaking and eating bread (a symbol of His body), and drinking wine (a symbol of His blood).

E is for Eli.
Eli is the Hebrew name for God. From the cross “…Jesus cried out with a loud voice, saying, “Eli, Eli, lama sabachthani?” that is, “My God, My God, why have You forsaken me?” (Matthew 27:46 NASV)

F is for forgiveness.
Forgiveness for sins is only possible through Jesus’ death on the cross. Jesus even forgave the sins of a believing thief hanging next to Him on the cross.

G is for Golgotha.
Golgotha, “the place of the skull,” was the hill outside of Jerusalem where Jesus was crucified.

H is for the Holy of Holies.
A heavy veil in the temple separated God’s people from the Holy of Holies…God’s dwelling place. As Jesus died, the veil of the temple was torn from the top to the bottom, ending forever our separation from the presence of God.

I is for “It is finished.”
Jesus spoke these words just before he died.

J is for Judas.
Judas, a disciple, betrayed Jesus for thirty pieces of silver.

K is for King of the Jews.
Jesus’ accusers despised Him for claiming to be their king. They tried to insult Him by crowning Him with thorns and hanging a plaque over His head that read, “King of the Jews”.

L is for lots.
The soldiers stripped Jesus, and then cast lots, gambling to see who would win His clothing.

M is for mock.
“The soldiers also mocked Him, coming up to Him, offering Him sour wine, and saying, ‘If you are the King of the Jews, save Yourself!’” (Luke 23:36-37 NASV)

N is for the ninth hour.
It was the ninth hour when Jesus died crying, “…Father, unto Your hands I commit my spirit.” (Luke 23:46 NASV)

O is for offering.
Jesus became the offering for our sins, making the many offerings required before His death unnecessary to continue.

P is for pierce.
After Jesus died, the soldiers pierced his side with a sword. Water and blood gushed out. This fulfilled Old Testament prophesy, and proved that He was dead.

Q is for quake.
After Jesus died the earth quaked, rocks split, and tombs were opened.

R is for resurrection.
When the tombs opened up, many saints were resurrected.

S is for sin.
“God made him who had no sin to be sin for us, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God.” (II Corinthians 5:21 NASV)

T is for tomb.
The tomb where Jesus was laid was sealed and guarded, and yet He arose! Death had lost its power!

U is for Undeserved Love.
Jesus shed His blood so that sinners could live. That is undeserved love, another term for grace.

V is for Via Dolorosa.
The Via Dolorosa is “the painful way” that Jesus took to Golgotha. Although His death was agonizing, there was no other way.

W is for women.
Several women who loved Jesus sadly watched His crucifixion. Three of them were the first to see Christ after He arose. They ran and told the disciples.

X is for example.
Jesus lived a perfect life. Although He was tempted like we are, He never sinned. His life is the best example for us to follow.

Y is for yield.
Jesus yielded His spirit when He died. He wants you to yield your life to Him. He will put your old, sinful self to death and raise you into a new life.

Z is for Zion.
Zion is another name for Jerusalem, the city near Golgotha. Someday Jesus will return to Zion’s Hill, where He will be proclaimed the King of Kings. We watch and wait and hope for that day.

Based on passages from the New testament, including Matthew 27, Luke 23, John 19, and Revelation 14 (NASV)

The opinions expressed by authors may not necessarily reflect the opinion of FaithWriters.com.
Accept Jesus as Your Lord and Savior Right Now - CLICK HERE
JOIN US at FaithWriters for Free. Grow as a Writer and Spread the Gospel.

This article has been read 983 times
Member Comments
Member Date
Jan Ackerson 08/25/06
I really like the idea of this, and would like to see it polished, as perhaps a teaching piece for children. The only thing I'd hope for is just a bit more "zip" in the definitions, some fresher language.

Very clever and original.
Virginia Gorg08/28/06
Nice research to get all the letters of the alphabet accounted for. Perhaps a thought for zipping it up could be to include what was seen, not just words (such as W is for women. Women cried, then rejoiced at seeing Him alive). Just a thought. I do like the approach you took. Nice :)
Jan Ross08/30/06
Nice work and another creative idea! I, too, could see this tidied up and presented to children! It certainly tells a beautiful story. I'm amazing you were able to do so well with all the letters. Obviously this took some thinking and creativity! Nice work! :)
Val Clark08/31/06
Wow, what a lot of work whent into this! And to get it within the word count. Well done. I particularly liked the H, Holy of Holies and how you got around X - example. :-) (BTW thanks for commenting on my Silent Stars) Yeggy