Home Tour About Read What's New Help Join Faith
My Account Login

Get Our Devotional             Win Publishing Package             Detailed Navigation

The HOME for Christian writers! The Home for Christian Writers!
The Official Writing Challenge



how it works
submission rules
guidelines for
choosing a level


submit your entry
read current entries
read past entries
challenge winners

Our Daily Devotional HERE
Place it on your site or
receive it daily by email.



how it works   Submit

Previous Challenge Entry (Level 3 – Advanced)
Topic: Canada (01/29/09)

TITLE: Short Story of Canada


In AD 985 Norse seamen sailing from Iceland to Greenland were blown far westward off their course and sighted the coast of what must have been Labrador (peninsula -a long narrow piece of land of eastern Canada). Researchers speak that the name Canada derives from the word “Kanata” from the Saint-Lawrence Iroquoian word and originated around 1535 A.D. The meaning of Kanata is "village", "settlement", "land"; “town” or "cluster of dwellings". The European books and maps began referring to this region as Canada by 1545. Canada's basic law derives not only from a set of documents known as Constitution Acts, but also a set of unwritten laws and conventions like United Kingdom. This comprises of all the acts passed since 1867 up to and including 1998. As a result, all constitutional documents during that time period have the force of law. . Canada has ten provinces and three territories. In total area, Canada is the second-largest country in the world; in land area, however, it ranks fourth. In terms of freshwater area, Canada is the largest country. The provinces and territories of Canada combine to make up the world's second largest country in total area. The major difference between a Canadian province and a territory is that a province receives its power and authority directly from the Crown, via the Constitution Act, 1867, whereas territories derive their mandates and powers from the federal government.At present the ten provinces are Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Prince Edward Island, Quebec, and Saskatchewan, while the three territories are Northwest Territories, Nunavut, and Yukon.The country of Canada is internationally recognized for safe, high-quality agriculture and food products. Agri-Food Trade Policy teaches us about how Canada advances its agriculture trade policy objectives through the WTO agriculture negotiations, regional/bilateral negotiations and dispute settlement.Branding CanadaCanada and Canadians already have a positive image around the world. Branding Canada's tools, information and graphics based on solid research can help leverage that image to promote and sell more Canadian food and agriculture products in international markets.Canadian Exporters Access market information, trade counseling and export support activities that help businesses from the initial export enquiry to the international market. The Agricultural Bioproducts Innovation Program (ABIP) is a multi-year program that seeks to mobilize Canada's creative talent in academia and in the private and public sectors and to integrate resources to build greater research capacity in agricultural bioproducts and bioprocesses. Provincial and territorial legislatures are having no second chamber equal very much to the Canadian Senate. In most provinces, the single house of the legislature is known as the Legislative Assembly except in Nova Scotia and Newfoundland and Labrador, where it is called the House of Assembly, and Quebec where it is generally called the National Assembly. Ontario has a Legislative Assembly but its members are called Members of the Provincial Parliament or MPPs. The legislative assemblies use a procedure similar to that of the Canadian House of Commons. The head of government of each province, called the premier, is generally the head of the party with the most seats. This is also the case in Yukon, but Northwest Territories and Nunavut have no political parties at the territorial level. The Queen's representative to each province is the Lieutenant-Governor. In each of the territories there is an analogous Commissioner, but he or she represents the federal government and not the monarch.

The opinions expressed by authors may not necessarily reflect the opinion of FaithWriters.com.
Accept Jesus as Your Lord and Savior Right Now - CLICK HERE
JOIN US at FaithWriters for Free. Grow as a Writer and Spread the Gospel.

This article has been read 633 times
Member Comments
Member Date
Marilyn Schnepp 02/06/09
Without paragraphing, this was a difficult read - but it was definitely on target, topic-wise...and shed a lot of light on the great country of Canada. Thank you for sharing this info with us at FW.