Discussion for Platinum members about the current Page Turner Writing Contest

Moderators: RedBaron, RedBaron, RedBaron

ChrisStachura
Pencil 1 (1-49 Posts)
Pencil 1 (1-49 Posts)

Using a Pen Name

Post by ChrisStachura »

Hi,

I've never written on the forums before, because: a) I have a hard time with new situations, even among other Christians and friends, and b) I had a hard time getting my new login to work here!

My question has to do with whether or not we can use a pen name to write our Page Turner non-fiction books. My idea is very personal, and has to do with my relationship with my sister over the years. I don't want to hurt anyone, and she is still alive. It is something which, if written, may help many people.

If using a pen name isn't possible, is it okay to change the names of the people in the book and then put a note at the beginning of the book saying the names have been changed to protect those still living or something to that effect?

The guidelines do not mention any of this :book2 , and so I'm turning to y'all for help. What do you think? :?:

Thank you,
Chris
Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows.
--James 1:17
RedBaron

Re: Using a Pen Name

Post by RedBaron »

I would think it would be very possible to use a pen name. But I'd be sure to ask Deb to make 100%, but I don't see why you wouldn't be able to. I think some people have even registered at FW with their pen names.

It is best to change names when writing anything true, unless you have permission from all the people involved. So I'd suggest just changing all the names, even if the people are no longer alive.
Last edited by RedBaron on Fri Mar 23, 2012 8:40 am, edited 1 time in total.
<><
Shari
FW 500 Member

"...hunt like a spider..." Cori - FW Con '07
ChrisStachura
Pencil 1 (1-49 Posts)
Pencil 1 (1-49 Posts)

Post by ChrisStachura »

Shari,